My Other Loves.

I truly am more than just a knitter…While my first few posts certainly center around my knitting, and my blog name can certainly imply knitting; there is a lot more to me than just yarn…  I guess than I should elaborate a little more on what :Ruby + Ana in Stitches truly means…

My blogging name represents a couple of different facets of my life, one of which is my Etsy shop (RubyandAna) , where I have started playing around with and selling my DIY adventures.  These range from my original handbag days where I have posted a few small clutch carry-alls to various blank stationary with hand drawn designs.  No major bites yet but only time and my patience will tell!

And from my Etsy account, I’ve taken my handcrafting DIY into knitting, which as I have mentioned before, I plan to start creating and selling my own patterns.  So my implying “in stitches” is very literally.  Where my name becomes more abstract is in the idea of my life is in pieces; different facets and interests.  It has also been a very difficult year, emotionally, career wise, stressful on my family… so I found I needed to strengthen, reinforce the pieces of my life, and stitch them back together.  My knitting has given back some of that strength and so have my other interests.

For example:

I take my love of doing things on my own terms by “experimenting” in indoor gardening- since I cannot exactly start a garden on the roof of my building and that 3’x5′ patch of grass by the entrance isn’t going to cut it either.  Needless to say, while I have successfully started a few herbs from seeds, I have definitely killed more baby herb plants than cultivating them.  I would like to blame that on the yo-yo temperature in our apartment, but I also don’t think that’s entirely the problem (meaning its probably ME).

I am quite proud to say though that one of my first ever basil plants from seedlings managed to survive!  It was pretty leggy for awhile since I did not cut it back early enough, but between my husband and I its gotten pretty healthy and is starting to “cover its legs”.  This is mainly due to the numerous cuttings we have taken to start a secondary plant.  Our first attempt unfortunately dried out due to an insanely hot weekend when we were away, but this weekend I finally planted our second batch of cuttings! And they are still holding strong a few days later…

Here’s to many nights of basil infused Italian dishes! (followed by more knitting of course!)

plant

Leave a Reply

