Subway Stitches; continued…

So I have moved onto a new subway project, and while I have a few that I am rotating out of my purse this most recent one has gotten me thinking…

Generally my work in stockinette stitch is very even. I pride myself that I have a consistency that is very comforting in very simple patterns.  This gives my work a more professional and so called “store bought”  look.

This more recent subway knit hasn’t been so even…. 

Project: Brig, by Brooklyn Tweed

Yarn: handspun from Sawkill Farm

I am working in an even 2×2 rib but every once and a while I will find a stitch as I work in circles that are tighter or looser than those around it.  And I am discovering that it may or may not be the yarn I’m using.  It is am absolutely beautiful hand spun undyed blended yarn from Sawkill Farm.  While I am so so happy with the yarn and how my pretty little hat is turning out, I keep thinking about how my even little stitches are a bit more inconsistent than what I’m used to.

Then again I think that could somehow I’m not seeing a consistency in my tension? Or what about my needle size? Should I be using a smaller needle for a tight gauge?  Would this bring back my ever comforting consistency?
It is opening up my mind in how some yarns may be better suited for one project over another… I’m curious to see what I discover next…. 

Leave a Reply

